Director's Message

Dear Members and Friends,

This is a bittersweet moment as I write my final Director’s Message and anticipate my last day on the job—June 30. As the search for the next director of the Harn Museum of Art continues, three truly outstanding finalists have visited campus to share their visions and ideas for the museum’s next chapter. I am supremely confident that the museum will be in excellent hands going forward. And I’m proud of what my colleagues and I have been able to accomplish over the sixteen years since I came on board on July 1, 2002.  Here are a few highlights:

Our collections have grown from approximately 4,700 to over 11,000 works of art, more than doubling the amount of art available for display, research and learning. The Harn Free Membership program has brought membership levels to record highs, with more than 5,000 individual members at present, of whom over 2,000 are UF students. The Harn’s curatorial team has grown from three curators overseeing the collections to six curators responsible for the major collecting areas of African, Asian, modern and contemporary art, photography, and works on paper. The Education department now includes an Education Curator of Academic programs, whose goal is to collaborate with UF campus departments and colleges to incorporate art into the academic experiences of students. Twenty-two new endowments have been added to support exhibitions and programs. With our neighbors at the UF Cultural Plaza we have begun to transform our part of campus into a major destination for the local community and visitors to Gainesville, offering art and nature experiences both outdoors and in. I look forward with great anticipation to watching a brilliant future unfold at the Harn Museum of Art. I am immensely grateful to our Harn members, donors and friends for supporting me and my colleagues at the museum as we have worked to bring the joy of experiencing great works of art to our diverse audiences. Thank you!


Rebecca Martin Nagy
Harn Museum of Art Director



Harn National Council Members

The purpose of the Harn National Council is to increase the Harn’s visibility nationally and internationally, broaden the base of support from UF Alumni, friends and art collectors, and to advance fundraising goals.

Ken and Laura Berns
Gainesville, FL

Norman and Irma Braman
Miami, FL

John and Pat Carlson
Fernandina Beach, FL 

Joshua Feldstein
Gainesville, FL

Linda Fuchs
Gainesville, FL

Russ and Deirdre Fogler
Gainesville, FL

Jeffrey and Carol Horvitz
Beverly, MA

Bob and Nancy Magoon
Aspen, CO

Cynthia O'Connell
Tallahassee, FL

Lorna Rubin
Gainesville, FL

Steve Shey
Gainesville, FL

Aase Thompson
Gainesville, FL

Smith Meyers
UF Student Body President




Mary Ann H. Cofrin
Mel Rubin (deceased)
Carol Shey
Ron Shore
Rick Thompson
Hazel and Bill Hough


Harn App

Download the Harn App to: 

  • Access your Digital Membership Card 
  • View hundreds of museums where you receive free or reduced admission at as part of your reciprocal benefits 
  • Receive notifications & reminders about Harn events